Holy Crap, I Cooked

My culinary skills are lacking, to say the least. Friends of mine post lovely recipes and scrumptious looking homemade meals they can just procure seemingly out of thin air (Harry Potter style, I imagine). I look at their posts, sigh inwardly, and stick a Lean Cuisine dinner in the microwave.

However, yesterday for some ungodly reason, I was in the mood to test the waters. I google searched some recipes (I can’t abra-cadabra them into existence like Mary Frances or Mary Davenport), found a yummy Minestrone Tortellini Soup, and went to work. After a hectic grocery run, I unpacked my ingredients – carrot, celery, green pepper, zucchini, onion, tomato, white beans (I’m sure they have a real name but whatever, I forgot it), garlic, Italian turkey sausage, beef stock, cheese tortellini, ketchup (I was skeptical and only added a teensy bit), Italian seasoning, parsley and Parmesan cheese. I improvised with the beans because I felt like it and I had no desire to really follow the measurement amounts* so I just didn’t. And it was terrific!

You cook up the sausage, onion and garlic then add the broth, carrots, celery, ketchup and seasonings. Bring it to a boil them let simmer for 20-25 minutes or until veggies are tender (or until you get too hungry to wait any longer). Then add the zucchini and green pepper, wait 5 minutes, add the tortellini, and cook another 5 minutes or so. Serve with Parmesan cheese on top (yum). I toasted up some wheat bread and dunked it in the glorious mix.

Fabulous! The only hitch? I didn’t pay attention to the serving size so the amount of soup leftover could feed Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie’s whole damn family for a fortnight. Well, whatever. I’m holding onto the faint notion that I am, indeed, a better cook than imagined.

I feel so successful that I may just attempt another unimaginable feat. Rodeo training, anyone?

 

*perhaps these reasons are why I’ve been so unsuccessful in the past? Hmm.

Leave a Reply

